NO SPARK!!!

i am a newbie but i am going to try and be as detailed as i can with my post.

problem: no spark

set up:

e50 casing

70cc treat kit

3 shoe adjustable clutch

internal ignition coil

12 volt light coil

universal voltage regulator

new condenser

boss pipe

21mm dellorto race carb (the black one)

how i have it wired:

internal coil has a white wire which i have running to the condenser

(kill switch spliced into white wire between ignition coil and condenser)

(kill switch is grounded to frame)

internal coil also has the spark plug wire going to the spark plug (duh)

12 volt light coil has green and yellow wire running to the yellow wire of the voltage regulator.

voltage regulator has a red wire which i have not yet hooked up to the lights

i noticed the ignition coil has no ground wire. could this be the problem?

any help would be awesome.!!

Re: NO SPARK!!!

its a pinto 2 with an e50

Have you hooked up the points? White wire goes to the condenser, points, and kill switch, all in parallel.

Coil should be internally grounded. Test for continuity between the white wire and ground.

Miswiring the lights won't keep the engine from running. All you need is the coil, points, and condenser.

yeah ive got the the black wire from the point going to the condenser. and i have checked my timing.

you can always illuminate the kill switch to make sure that's not the problem.

im thinking i should buy one of those CDI packages. ugh its reeeeally frustrating!!

That's an awful lot of variables to add to the equation for someone who's new to mopeds. How about making it run first, getting it go a little faster, then begin to really tinker. Or just get yourself a cdi bolt it on and blast.

yeah. it was running. it was pretty fast then it just crapped out. dunno.

Have you replaced any parts besides the condenser? Your coil may have just up and died. Resistance checks will not always spot a bad coil, the only certain test is to substitute a new or known-good one.