Acceleration and bogging down

I've posted a few times now with some problems with my puch maxi 2hp 1977.

Anyways, the update...

Spark plug is perfect

Jet is proper size (after plug chopping)

Electrical system is perfect (i'm an electrical engineer so that was the first thing i knew to fix)

However, I still have the same problem. I cannot accelerate very fast and hills KILL me. I ride with a few people with 1.5 and 1hp puch (no mods), and everyone leaves me in the dust. I would expect that a 2hp would last least keep up.

Any ideas for me to check on my ped to figure out exactly whats wrong with this ped? The only thing I'm not sure about is the throttle cable, how do I check to see if this is working properly?

Re: Acceleration and bogging down

if you pull off the air filter, look in the carb, and pull back the throttle grip, if the slide is all the way up, you're good. if not, adjust it

it looks like it's completely up - i don't think that's a problem.

Any other ideas? Why can't I get all the power I realllly have?

Some thoughts:

When you say the electrical system is perfect, are you including timing? If everything is working, but that big blue spark comes at the wrong time, it'll really hurt performance.

Make sure the air filter is clean. Probably so, since the plug chop came out OK, but ckeck anyway.

The exhaust system may be clogged, which doesn't let the engine breathe. If the exhaust can't get out, the air/fuel can't get in. We're talking muffler, baffle, pipe, exhaust port. All get clogged after a while.

Does your engine have a reed valve? I don't think so, but if it does, that could be faulty.

what size is your carb and intake? if it's 12 like mine, 25 will be your top speed possible

Ben Van Zoest /