Why is my Motobecane 50V clutch area so loud?

This is my first 50V that I've had running so maybe it's normal but it seems loud around the clutch area. Is this normal? It's hard to desribe the sound. It almost sounds like one can rotating inside of another one. I know that's kind of whats going on there but should it make that sound? If it's fairly common, what causes it? Thanks.

Re: Why is my Motobecane 50V clutch area so loud?

Wow, Mine does the same thing and i'm new to motobecanes too. It's a very noisy metallic sound...I'm thinking it may be the bearings rattling around but i sure don't know for sure. I was thinking it's the nature of the beast....i'll looking forward to hearing from others about this too!

ಠ_ಠ Jon Folks ಠ_ಠ /

My 50V is pretty quiet in the clutch area. Maybe you need to grease them bearings up good! Do a search on it, its actually not too easy from what I hear.

Hey,

Yeah, I've got 2 mobies, one has a bad sound coming from the clutch, and the other has an absolutely terrible sound.

I think it has to do with the main bearings, like they are particularly prone to corrosion in the moby engine.

I don't know, though if you are of the religious persuasion, you should pray that the bearings aren't bad, as they aren't (easily) replaceable.

Hope this helps,

willie.

Just got mine running too and it also has a weird noise, but not the same one--you can hear the clutch engaging. Right when it starts to spin, you can hear a little scraping sound, then it goes away when the clutch engages fully.

The thing only has 800 miles on it, so I doubt the clutch pads are worn out. But it hadn't run in many years, so I'm hoping they just have some crud on them and it will go away once I take it for a good long ride.

Hopefully, that will be soon--just have a couple front fork and rear brake issues to iron out and I should be good...

Why is my Motobecane 50V clutch area so loud?

OK, a couple of ideas. Any one else know what causes it and how to fix it?