NVT stopped midrun HELP

Moped started to lose power as I was riding. 10 minutes or so after that it lost all power.

What do I check?

How do I do it?

I'm new to this moped thing.

Re: NVT stopped midrun HELP

Didn't run out of gas did you?

I know that it is a silly question but you idn't give us much to work with.

Is the bike stock?

What gas oil mix are you running.

Did the engine sieze or just quit running?

Have you cleaned all your fuel filters?

Remove the fuel cap to see if the vent hole is plugged.

Have you been able to get it started again?

What make and model is the bike?

1977 Norton Villers Triumph with a Minarelli engine.

No, it's not out of gas.

When I pedal it to get it started the engine starts to kick up but then it dies as soon as I gas it.

I don't know what "Is the bike stock?" means.

It just quit running.

I don't know how to clean the fuel filters.

The tank is shaped weird, I don't know if I can see the vent hole.

I'm running a 40:1 mix, which is what was recommended to me.

-t

Take the gas cap off and see if it will run.Starting it on the stand would be best if you can, you dont want to slosh gas all over.

Grey

Thanks.

Taking the gas cap off got it started on the 5th kick.

It sounded pretty ragged and then it died after about 30 seconds.

Now what?

Well it sounds like its been narrowed down to a fuel issue. I belive it has a dellorto sha carb, which is pretty easy to clean.

I have the engine manual. Should I just go at it? I've never done any sort of work on a moped before. What type of tools do I need?

Leon Swarmer /

Grey is prolly right on needing the carb cleaned, but you might try this first. Turn the petcok off. Get a container to catch fuel. Take the fuel line off the carb. It should lose about a teaspoon full of fuel. Now, holding the fuel line over your contianer, turn the petcock on. You should have a small steady flow. if not turn it to reserve and see if you have a good flow.