77 Newport

I have a 77 Puch Newport that was running earlier today. I messed around a bit with the throttle cable and idle screw, then took the top of the carburator out and the whole main slide, choke slide, spring, etc. fell apart completely as soon as I took it out. I put it back together and put it back in several times and couldnt get it to run again. It would sound like it wanted to start when I pedaled really fast and opened the throttle but would never actually kick in and start. It would just die down when I either stopped pedaling or let the throttle go a little. Im pretty new to mopeds so I dont really know what the problem might be. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Re: 77 Newport

Ok Did you clean the carb?? If not then Ya prob. knocked a little peice of stuff into the carb. Clean the carb then try again.

Also prime and choke it when you start.

Make sure the choke slide is in right--the little notch fits over the choke lever, which sticks down intothe top of the carb. If you do it wrong and just plop the slide down into the carb, it will go back together, but won't run right. It's a little tricky.

Yeah, Im pretty sure I put it back together correctly. I did it a couple times just to make sure. Im going to try cleaning it completely today. I did notice that the top of the carb is missing the little gasket that fits under it. I read that it prevents air from entering through the top, I wasnt sure if that would make a big difference or not.

So I took the carb apart, cleaned it and put it back together, but still nothing. It doesnt seem like its even turning over. When I pull the starting lever it seems like nothing happens except for the resistance that it normally gets.

either the cable is not properly attached at the handle or

carb or both,,,be sure and let it rest in case you flooded it;could be the idle screw as you indicated you messed w/all this stuff!