flywheel removal on Motobecane 50

I have a 79 Motobecane 50...the engine is not turning and my friend and I can't seem to find anything wrong except the fact that there is no spark.

Put in new spark plug, so that's not the problem. Want to access the points to clean them up, hoping that will get everything running. Took off the outer cover, no problem, but I'm having trouble getting the actual flywheel cover off without the special tool. Tried a regular wrench to no avail.

Has anyone else had this problem? Any solutions short of finding the tool? Just need to get it to stop spinning so we can get enough torque on it.

This moped is new to me and I am new to mopeds and mechanics in general, so any advice would be very much appreciated.

THANKS!

Re: flywheel removal on Motobecane 50

you can stop the spinning of the engine by stuffing rope in the spark plug hole to act as a piston stop, or purchase a craftsman strap wrench and use that to hold onto the flywheel/rotor..