Motobecane 50V - No Spark

I recently purchased a 1977 Motobecane 50V, and I am working to get it running by spring. Currently, it will not start at all. I am a newbie to moped repair, so please bear with me if I have failed to understand something fundamental.

The first thing I have tested for is the spark by following Fred's Guide. There is no spark. The one thing I have noticed is when I turn the pedals, the belt rotates the variator smoothly. However, the magneto only occasionally "catches" and turns. I usually have to pedal a little bit faster to get the magneto to turn, and it will only turn about once for every 4 or 5 rotations of the pedals. By listening carefully, I also believe that the piston is only moving when the magneto turns, but I could be wrong about this. Should the magneto be rotating at the same rate as the variator and pedals?

If this is even possible, it feels like the magento is somehow loose, such that it only occasionally "catches" and turns. Can anyone point me in a direction I could explore?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

-Aadm

Re: Motobecane 50V - No Spark

Your moped should have a decompression lever on the right handle bar. It runs a cable to the cylinder head and opens a valve in the combustion chamber making it easier to turn the engine over.

However, this shouldn't be necessary if the spark plug is removed. Did you remove the spark plug prior to checking for spark, or did you maybe just use another one, or are you just holding the cap near the engine?

Try turning the engine over by hand. Try and figure out if there is resistance to turning over, and if it's cause by compression or by something like rust or corrosion in the cylinder or bottom end.

Bret, I removed the old spark plug from the engine, and then attached a new spark plug to the cap and held it near the engine block to test for a spark. So, it is not the compression that is preventing the engine/magneto from turning, because the plug was removed at the time.