My moped just drove me insane. (please help)

Thomas Middleditch /

Keep in mind, I'm just learning.

Ok, so, I've got a Maxi with a Polini kit and Proma country exhaust. 15mm Bing carb (86 jet) and performance air filter. Those are the only mods. Sometimes, more often than not, the bike will start up great and run great (sometimes a little slow to accelerate but I'm still tinkering with the air filter and the jet size). But today, and this has happened twice before, I had some very frustrating problems.

Essentially it quit running. Aside from the fact that it came at the worst possible time, I'm totally stumped as to why it quit.

The other two times this happened, after a while, it miraculously started up again. Not sure why. Maybe it was flooded and then it drained, however I could find any gas on the ground.

Today it didn't start again. This is after I had been riding it for a good while. I only had limited tools at the time, but I checked the spark plug. Although I still had spark, it was pretty weak. The color of the end was a brownish rust. Just to be sure, I put in a brand new plug (for some reason I had one in my backpack). Still nothing. It's getting gas. I'd take out the plug and it would be wet. The engine has plenty of compression. So what's going on? Is it just flooded? I waited like half an hour to start it again and still nothing. I tried with the choke down, up, all of that stuff. Nothing. If it's flooded why would it run and then after 20 minutes of it resting it just stop? I could get it so if I timed me releasing the clutch right, it would let out a little put or two but then nothing else. It's like it's almost there but then it doesn't fire up.

Keep in mind I'm in Chicago and it's cold, wet, and snowy.

Earlier this morning it had trouble starting and when I took out the spark plug some vapour that looked like steam came out. Don't know what that means. Maybe it was just steam, hehe.