78 motobecane cuts off after few min.

my '78 motobecane mobylette runs awesome until about 10 min. of riding then slows and cuts off in a matter of a few seconds, sounds like it could be a spark plug problem, but I am just getting into mopeds and am not really sure what the problem is, I have experimented with gas mixtures and different brands of oil, I switched from a champion spark plug (L86C) to a B5HS but no improvement, someone recommended a B6HS so I will try that also I'm goanna put on a fuel filter because it looks like ther could be a little rist in my tank. It has been doing this ever since I'v had it, which is about a year. any help would be help. thanks andrew.

Re: 78 motobecane cuts off after few min.

Check the gas cap vent.After it shuts off, does it start right back up?

Grey

Live to ride, Ride to work

Mike Scouty McScoutington /

or it could also be a bad condensor.

no it takes a while for it to restart, probobly about 5 to ten min. and I'm not realy sure what the gas cap valve is but I have checked to make sure gas is getting to the engine by looking at the tube and takeing it off to see if ther is still flow, and there is so that may not be the case.

how would I know if it is a bad condensor? because I don't know a whole lot about what to look for then something isn't working properly.

When my friends Maxi did that it was the coil...

Andrew, the gas cap vent Grey is talking about is in the cap itself... there's a small hole in the middle of the cap that's supposed to let air in (otherwise the tank would have a vaccuum in it as it drained.) Sometimes this vent clogs, and that can reduce your flow of gas to a trickle. If riding with the gas cap off (or just barely on) fixes your problem, you know it's the cap.