Serious problem with Solex

I finally got the fuel leak stopped,and got a new tube in the rear tire,and thought my problems were over for awhile.This morning,I got up at 5:00,while it was still nice and cool,and went for a ride.I went to a little town about 20 miles away,stopped at the cafe,had a cup of coffee and a donut,and headed back home.About halfway back,I noticed what felt like a flat rear tire.This time I had plenty of flat fixing supplies,and a cell phone.I got off the bike,expecting to find a flat tire,but it wasn't flat.I got to looking at it,and found seven spokes broken in the rear wheel.The wheel was so far out of true,that the tire was hitting the frame on both sides,so I couldn't even push it.While I was replacing the tube (yesterday),I noticed that some of the spokes were a little loose,so I tightened them properly,made sure the wheel was true,and checked spoke tension.(I've been a bicycle mechanic all my life) I have no idea what caused this,other than poor quality materials.I did not hit anything,and the bike has never been crashed.I called for help,and had to wait almost three hours for him to arrive.I have been riding road bikes and mountain bikes all my life,I've bent rims before,from hitting things,but I have NEVER broken a spoke.The rear wheel is virtually ruined,and I am not going to buy another $150 wheel,which wouldn't be any better than this one.By the way,it still has less than 300 miles on it.Needless to say,I am very disappointed with the quality of this bike.It looks really cool,and it's fun to ride,when it's ridable,which isn't very often.Has anybody else had problems like this with the Hungarian made Solex's?If so,what did you do about it.Thanks.Jerry.

Re: Serious problem with Solex

Hi Jerry,

I've never broken a spoke and never heard of anybody breaking a Solex spoke.

I've e-mailed this post to Velocruz.

Jerry,