Starting TOMOS from hiberantion

Just bought a 1996 TOMOS Sprint ($250) with 285 miles on the clock. Lady bought it new, rode it very little, put it away (without proper storage precautions it appears) and now I need to make it start. Put in fresh fuel and oil in the hopes it might fire off. Of course it did not. A quick check for ignition spark was positive (lots of fire). So I'm sure fuel/oil gunk from all those years of storage need to be removed before I will get her up and running.

Also when I turned on the petcock I got a fairly good leak of gas on the ground. Seals/gaskets (?) or petcock probably need replacing. Where can I buy TOMOS parts that won't cost me an arm and a leg?

So I am throwing my situation out to ask if anyone can tell me what I need to do to get her running. I'm a total newbie here (first post) and would appreciate any advice. Thanks!!

Harold Williams

Spartanburg, SC USA

Starting TOMOS from hiberantion

Harold -

Start with these two articles from the "Resources" section, and I'm sure there will be some replies from more experienced Tomos owners.

http://www.mopedarmy.com/resources/articles/fredsguide/

http://www.mopedarmy.com/resources/articles/springprep/

Re: Starting TOMOS from hiberantion

Thanks for the quick reply. Will check them out.

Har

Where was the fuel leaking from? The carb or the petcock?

Check the hosse between the petcock and the carb. These dry out and crack,

In any case you have to fix the leak before you do anything else.