'82 PA-50 II "ping" sound from engine?

I'm new to mopeds, as of yesterday, and have run into a problem. I know nothing about small engines (yet), so any help will be appreciated.

I notice a 'ping' sound comging from the front of the engine - almost as if you hit a piece of metal with a screwdriver or something. This sound seems now to be associated with the moped not running even as well as it was yesterday. Stalls when at a complete stop, engine not running smoothly, etc...

Does this ring any bells for anyone? (pardon the pun)

thanks

Re: '82 PA-50 II "ping" sound from engin

i found a 78 pa50 hobbit at a salvage yard.. no spark plug.. it's a good thing i examined it before firing it up.. there was a bunch of gravel in the cylinder..

take the head off.. examine the decompression valve and everything else in there for indications that something's hitting something.. maybe the spark plug is the wrong type.. too long.. who knows.. Maybe you're hearing something unrelated to the engine..

go get the PA50 / Hobbit manuals on THIS page .. read them cover to cover .. since the bike is new to you, check everything before riding that thing again.. brakes, engine, etc .. search this forum for lots of PA50 threads.. ask if you got a question.. Read Fred's Guide (top of that page) for more tune up stuff..

spend a few bucks on any needed tools if you have none.. It's a very nice bike when it's in good operating condition and a few days of tweaking and tuning and dirty hands is well worth the effort.

Listen to what joew says. He is very knowledgeable on the Hobbits.

Are you using the proper spark plug?

The piston could be hitting the tip of plug if the plug is too long.