Is this exhaust pinched?

Recently got a Vespa Bravo with the Polini exhaust attached. Something's inhibiting the ped from making use of the exhaust, as when we remove the pipe it goes about 5 mph faster. I'm new to peds, but commonsense tells me this looks like a pinched pipe (I'll post a second view shortly). Can anybody give me their opinions?

My related question is this... the previous owner bumped up the carb and gave it this new exhaust, but it doesn't appear he made any extra holes in the air filter for increased intake. Is this something I should do to make the bike "breathe" a little more efficiently so it gets some extra rpms? I have been making the ped eat its wheaties, but the tailpipe just isn't doing it's work and I need to know why.

thanks for anything you can tell me.

1125600201_polini_exhaust1.jpg

Re: Is this exhaust pinched?

Here's view 2 of the exhaust.

1125600312_polini_exhaust3.jpg

yeah.. that's exactly the type of damage that would render the pipe useless..

Sound waves and gas pulses must be free to move back and forth in an expansion chamber, while maintaining their strength.. This requires smooth interior shapes that gradually blend into one another ..

take it to a muffler shop.. Midas, for instance.. Call first .. Some muffler/exhaust repair chains do all their bending jobs in one particulal shop that is set up to bend tubing.

Get an estimate for them to bend you a new header pipe (the part with the crease) ..

find someone who welds.. Cut and preserve the first couple inches of the header-to-cylinder joint from the old pipe and weld it back onto the new (after all the parts are bolted onto the bike and are tack-welded in the exact correct position).

:

Do proper plug chops on the tuned bike before drilling holes or messing with anything.

Troy Weisenmiller /