1993 JAWA MOPED

I HAVE A 1993 JAWA MOPED. AND THE FASTEST I'VE HAD IT ON FLAT PAVEMENT IS 35 MPH..............BUT THE ACCELERATION IS ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!! I'VE TRYED EVERYTHING FROM CLEANING THE CARBON BUILD UP OUT OF THE EXHAUST, TO CLEANING THE CARBURATOR OUT. THE ONLY THING I CAN THINK OF IS, IT MIGHT BE THE CYLINDER OR PISTON.I JUST GOT THIS MOPED THIS PAST CHRISTMAS.........AND IT WAS MY COUSINS AND HE NEVER TOOK CARE OF IT. SO WHAT COULD BE THE PROBLEM???

I REALLY APPRECIATE THE REPLIES THANKS, JEFF

Re: 1993 JAWA MOPED

could be a slipping clutch.. dragging brakes.. give it a really good looking over. Got gears or a wet clutch? Check fluid type and level.

since it reaches top speed the engine itself is probably ok.

THANKS FOR THE SUGGESTION....BUT IM NEW TO THESE THINGS........DO U KNO WHERE THE CLUTCH MIGHT BE? BE A LITTLE MORE EXPLANATORY PLEASE.IM A NEWB. AND MY JAWA IS A AUTOMATIC.[JUST INCASE U NEEDED TO KNO]

AND IT TAKES TWO CYCLE ENGINE OIL.

PLEASE REPLIE BACK THANKS, JEFF

AND ALSO WHAT DO U MEAN BY THE CLUTCH SLIPPING? FIRST OFF WHATS A CLUTCH? IM 14 YEARS OLD AND IM JUST WANDERING WHAT TO DO.

THANKS, JEFF

i can't explain what a cluth is without talking about a lot of other things that you also wouldn't know about..

The smart way to go about fixing this bike quickly and easily is to have someone who's a pretty good mechanic look it over.. meanwhile you look over his shoulder..

ಠ_ಠ Jon Folks ಠ_ಠ /

35 mph for a stcok 50cc bike is really good. It just must be geared for top end, and not for torque. If made the engine gear smaller, you woudl gain torque, but lose top end.

Brooklyn

Jeff: Your profile says that you are only 14 years old and as such this is probably your first motoring experience. This is not a bad thing if you learn how to do things properly.