need some help with my "new" moped

Hi. I've just come into possession of a Garelli Super Sport moped, and I seriously need some help. My neighbor was throwing it away, so you can imagine its in rough shape, but I'm up for a challenge and want to restore it. However, I'm totally new to mopeds. I have no idea what year it is... is there any way I can find out? (like a VIN on a car?) It seems to be missing the tank, seat, right-hand grip/brake assembly (is that also the throttle like in a motorcycle?) and the chain, and a few small minor parts. The motor looks to be intact, but I was told it didn't run any more.

Please, if anyone can tell me where I should even START with this project, it would be much appreciated :)

I'll have pictures of it (in its sad state) soon... as soon as I take them!

Re: need some help with my "new" moped

Yes, photos would be of great help in identifying your unit.

Missing as much as it is you might be better off selling it for parts and getting yourself a running unit.

ok... i managed to find the VIN label... its from 1979. this is a picture of it: http://s96980453.onlinehome.us/moped/moped1

warning, dialup...don't bother, this picture is seriously huge... i'm sorry :(

Just start disassembling and cleaning and greasing. You'll get somewhere eventually.

I usually start with the basics: engine, carb, electrical, exhaust, wheels/shocks, brakes/throttle/clutch assemblys and cables.

WOW, you really are missing a lot of stuff. Unfortunately, you will probably make ebay rich, buying everything you will need. There are better mopeds around. Try to find a Puch or Motobecane that is mostly complete. Fixup cost will be much lower. For what you will spend to get that Garelli running, you could easily get a recent Kinetic or an almost new Tomos.

If you must try to repair it, take lots of pictures during and before disassembling anything. Best of Luck.