Throttle cable busted?

I am very poor at this moment in my life so, like the fool I am and continue to be, I have been trying to fix up my 78 Puch which I recently acquired. It did run when I first put gas in it today but it wasnt running great(yes I know it's a 78). So I decided to buy a new plug and try to clean the carburator. I believe I have a 78 Maxi Sport......well I am new to car or moped...auto repair of any sort and I resorted to following some instructions from mopedonline.com as to how to go about cleaning the carb. My friend said it has problems with the carb and needs to be cleaned regularly, so I thought it a good idea to do it. So here is where my problem comes in.....as I was taking apart and eventually putting back together, I must have tugged too hard on the top piece of the carburator and pulled out the throttle wire casing (the black rubber tubing around the wires..in case my terms are not correct) at the joint where the wire meets the curved carb tube coming off of the top of the carb casing. I took everything apart and put together again but still nothing....the casing was moving with the wire so that the wire itself did not make its full range of motion inside the carburator. I then looked beneath the throttle handle where the wire attaches there and I saw the screw that held in that end was moving too.....it seemed as though a piece of plastic was missing that held it in place....I'm sorry to be so lengthy with this.....just not sure if I'm making sense. Please if anyone can give me some advice before I have to take it in to a shop I would appreciate it.....is it an easy fix perhaps? Thanks and again sorry for the length (as I keep going).

Re: Throttle cable busted?

Jason Luther /