Spark Plug

Hi everyone.

This is my first time on this site AND a first timer with one of these. first off a little history about how i came across a '03 TFR.

my wife belongs to a free stuff club and someone was giving a wooden something to her. when we went to go and pick up the wood thing i saw this baby sitting in the corner. i asked about it and she said that i could take it!

the lady said that a prior tenant found it at the local dump and brought it home. he tried several things to get it up and running but has had no luck with it. this was over a year ago and has been sitting in a corner of her yard until i happened to come across it.

other than the obvious items i noticed right away about it (no kickstand, no mirrors, the speedometer cable disconnected and fitting crushed, no chain guard) i decided to load it up INSTEAD of the wood thing (it was too big for my house anyway).

now trying to get this up and running myself i decided to go over the basics (gas, compression, ignition). lots of gas, in fact almost a full tank (good news to me... less corrosion). seems to have good compression but no spark!

now this gets to my question...

looking at the spark plug and wire, the wire has threads and not made for a cap to slide into it. when i look at the plug, it is just threads. is this normal for this particular set up? you have to screw on the plug to the wire and then screw the plug on the head (eh... HELLOOOO! cant screw the plug and wire on without taking the coil off! one or the other but not both seeing as how you would loosen one up to get the other on!)

any ideas or comments?

all help will be appreciated!

thanks

Re: Spark Plug

Jason Luther /