80' Tomos Bullet - Bogs on throttle

Scott Kreyer /

Hi, this is my first post, I'm very new to moped engines. I've had a 1980 Tomos Bullet SP for about 3 years now but it has rarely ran. It leaked fuel for long time and then stopped running for years. I finally have the extra money to fix it and I just got done installing new float, float gasket, petcock, fuel filter, fuel line, and spark plug.

After installation the bike took a while to start. I finally got it to run but it still has the same symptom it had from when it had ran previously. The bike runs very good on the stand with no load. I took it for a ride and when ever you give it gas it loses power. If I give it about 10% throttle I can get going and eventually make it up to full speed. I remember the bike being a lot faster and very responisve in the past.

Any ideas? Thanks

Re: 80' Tomos Bullet - Bogs on throttle

Did you clean out the carb and air filter if it has one?? Also, if you had old gas in it, might want to flush out the tank with gas, put new gas in it, and then try it out.

Scott Kreyer /

I fully cleaned out the carb the only thing I could not take apart was the tip of the jet if it comes out. I still cleaned it but it looked as if it would come off. I blew out the air filter with compressed air and I'm running a fresh mix of gas. also it has 1k miles on it so there isn't a clogged exhaust. The same problem continued after replacing/cleaning:

fresh gas mix

spark plug

float

float bowl gasket

carburator cleaning

air filter cleaning

petcock

fuel line

fuel filter

new throttle cable

Scott Kreyer /

After reading more I think it's "four stroking" for some reason. Either that or the entire air fuel mixture or timing is off. Here is a description of a ride: