Sebring WONT START getting mad...

Once again I am asking for more help. First my sebring wouldnt crank at all. Took apart engine... Been sitting for a long time and crank and piston were seized up. Worked it with WD40 for a while and now it moves very freely and good. Buttoned it up and now it cranks. Cleaned carb and spark plug. Wont start. Put new gas in . Wont start. The closest I get this thing running is when it pops and almost starts with sorta a backfire. The spark plug is wet and blackish when I take it out and I clean it. It sparks out side of the head. I have to literally run with it to make it pop and sputter. I dont know what else could be wrong. Brushes are good. I think it is fuel related but not sure where to start. Another guy said something about it sparking outside of the head but not inside... Any help or I will be forced to get rid of it... Really looking forward to riding it but I have spent so many hot hours with no avail. I am a chevy mechanic and know NOTHING about mopeds. Its got the morini engine. 1980 sebring. Someone tell me something to get this beast started. Thanks, Jim

Re: Sebring WONT START getting mad...

you can test ignition for spark by removing the plug (Use a plug KNOWN to be good.. not fouled), reattaching the boot to the plug and ground the plug's base to the engine's fins.. crank it over and observe a blue spark at the eledctrodes.

It does sound like your carb has problems.. Try starting with some Starter Fluid .. If it runs for a few seconds fuel delibvery is messed up.

If you get a good spark, i don't know why the plug would come out wet unless its an accumulation of fuel from repeated failures to start.. or an intermittantly fouled plug ..

if you got a clean plug and spark, and fuel and some compression the thing should run.