79' Grande Bogs/Stalls. HELP

Nathan Edwards /

Okay...

So I bought a new SHA 13/13 carb (had a stock 12/12) for my Grande and put it in earlier today... Started up fine, started to run but bogged down and was about 1/2 the speed of having a 12/12.

I said okay lets do some testing. I pulled off the airbox and when I put it full throttle it stalled completely in a matter of seconds.

Pulled off the stock exhaust and it stalled at full throttle. Put a promo circuit exhaust on & airbox and it would run at full throttle but was 1/2 speed.

If I put on a 13/13 shouldnt it be okay to run right out of the gate? Am I too rich? If so, wouldnt pulling the airbox give it enough/more air and not make it worse?

Its too nice out to keep doing this without expertise. I admit Im an amateur and would like the help of experts.

Thanks so much in advance.

Nato

** Also, I bought the SHA carb from www.50cc.nl (photo attached) and it doesnt have the throttle cable guard (the upside down 'L' shaped thing) and so I put the 'L' shaped thing on from my 12/12. Without it, I have too much throttle cable... could this be a problem? I tested the slide/ throttle mechanism and it seems to work like a charm but if anyone else has done connected it properly w/o the 12/12 upside down 'L' thing let me know.. Thanks!

Re: 79' Grande Bogs/Stalls. HELP

Nathan Edwards /
nato OP

heres the SHA carb from 50cc.nl

1120368738_21163.jpg

you've got to do plug chops to find out where to start from. find out what jet you have in the original carb and the new carb and do plug chops with what equipment you want on your bike.anything else will endanger the engine your just guessing.jim

Nathan Edwards /
nato OP

I know it is recommended that a plug chop be done with 1/2 mile full throttle but I cant do 1/2 mile full throttle (im in the city). Can I do 5-6 blocks?

Nathan Edwards /
nato OP

In this case, do the symptoms tell me I need smaller or larger jets.