Gas tank cleaning

Hi guys, I'm new to the moped world and need a little help. I have a 1977 columbia commuter sachs moped and wanted to clean the tank. I don't really know how to do this and what solutions or solvents to use. If anyone could tell me step by step what I need to do, I would greatly appreciate it. If you could tell me exactly what solutions or solvents to use (like specific names) that would help me out alot. Thanks.

Re: Gas tank cleaning

Hi, I am also relatively new to the moped world. I had to clean the tank on my 1980 Puch - it was nasty as it hadn't been run in 5 years or so. Anyway, if the tank is really bad (scale, rust, varnish) one of the best things to do first is to put some really hot soapy water in the tank with about 20 assorted nuts (make sure you count them). Fill the tank about 1/2 way up. Then shake the crap out of it. Do this till your arms fall off. Fish the nuts out when you think you've got all the junk out that is going to come out. A magnet will help with this. Then you can treat the tank with an acid etch (Kreem A or something else) and follow that with an acid neutralizer (Kreem B or something else). I did this and it helped - not perfect, my arms fell off pretty quickly!...Jim

Amondo,

I did just this to my Solumbia (Solo engine Columbia) about 2 weeks ago. There is an exact description of what I did, and how it went.

Here is the thread:

http://mopedarmy.com/forums/discuss/read.php?f=6&i=22401&t=22401

Gas tank cleaning

Steamboat Aka J. R. Stevens /

http://www.mopedrepairmanuals.com/gas.html FYI. This link may help. Jim.

Looks like I wasted my $ on the Kreem...live and learn.

Thanks guys, I really appreciate the help. I'm going to go and try the things you said and I'll let you know how it turns out. Thanks again.

-Amodo