1979 Puch starting problem

Okay, I don't know if this is normal or not, since I've never done it before, but while trying (unsuccessfully) to start my moped today, I noticed that if I flicked the engine switch to "off" and tried to start it, all the electricals would work (my horn's stuck on and I turned my light on to see if it would work) but the engine wouldn't run. Then, I put the engine switch in the "on" position and tried it again, but the horn and light didn't come on. Is this normal?

Also, I have no idea why it won't start, the fuel lines are clear and the wiring seems alright if the horn goes and the light turns on, right? When I try to test for spark, I take the cap off, and the plug out, and then put the plug in the cap and hold it to the bike, trying to kickstart it, right? And I should see a spark if it's gapped correctly? What if I don't see a spark? What could this mean, (other than that it's not correctly gapped) especially considering that my headlight and horn work?

Any help would be appreciated!

-Mike

Re: 1979 Puch starting problem

Leon Swarmer /

MIke, my 77 Puch doesn't have a battery so it's different..BUT. yes you should see a spark if you hold the plug grounded and spin the negine. but I bet you've told us your problem. That horn should not be working unless you are pushing on the button. It can suck a lot of joice in a hurry.

check the horn switch carfully. look for shorts. then the bike my start. have you checked your taillight/brakelight bulb?

unless your gap is WAAAAY off, it should spark even if gapped wrong.

Leon