Motobecane Cady - kinda slow

So I just got a Cady in the mail on friday. I put it all back together, cleaned out the carb and all that biznazz, and it runs great.

_exceeepppttt_

For some reason it's going pretty slow. The belt on it looks brand new, the drive chain is nice and tight. The carb is clean as a whistle. What could be causing this?

This is my first time to work on the smaller Motobecane engines. It's also kind of loud, but I can't find where you can change the crankcase oil on it.

Any help will be appreciated!

Thanks,

Beamer

Re: Motobecane Cady - kinda slow

Not sure why it's slow, other than typical things like compression, etc. How slow is slow?

And AFAIK, there is no crankcase oil to change. Only 4-cycles have crankcase oil.. some 2-cycles have oil for the transmission, etc, but not for the crankcase. Crankcase lubrication is provided by the gas/oil premix.

It's going about 20mph or so. Could this be points or anything?

It seems the bike is just like it was when it was originally purchased. Original spark plug, original belt, original tires, etc. It looks like it's never been ridden either, everything is brand new.

Yeah I'm not much of an expert but maybe the carb should be adjusted. Does it sound like the motor is running a a low RPM? Because by adjusting the throttle and carb, you could make the top speed greater but with Higher RPMs.

Motobecane made some models designed to only top out around 20. Perhaps the cady is one...

Does the moped act like it wants to go faster, through noises or anything?

If I had my Cady running, I would compare speeds with you.

I'm pretty sure that your Cady is the only running one I have ever heard of, so that's something to be proud of!

Haha it's a beaut. I got it for my girlfriend (her second Motobecane) but I'm trying to get it running nice before she scoots off on it.