Tomos A3 Bullet

I just picked up this ped and it will only spark if the coil is not attached to the engine. It also loses spark when I switch on the headlights. I am a master auto tech but don't understand how this moped electrical system works. The wiring is not chafed or shorted, the taillight assembly is missing. Any ideas? Thanks for any input: Mike

Re: Tomos A3 Bullet

Don Pflueger /

you need the tail light bulbs to get spark. if the bulbs are bad/missing, the bike wont run. also, if its an older bullet, say 1985 or older, there is a resistor in the tail light housing which is used as a voltage regulator. disconnect the blue wire that runs up into the wire harness to the handle bars from the coil. it should then run with the coil mounted. then to shut it off, just unplug the blue wire from the coil. leave the headlight turned off or you will blow bulbs.

Thanks for the tip Don, I hooked up a tail light assembly from a old Hobbit I have for parts and the engine no longer dies with the coil grounded. I also hooked up the brake light switches and lo and behold the engine now dies when I put on the brakes! I notice that the brake light seems to work normally (till the engine stops turning). The engine dies with or without the brake light bulb in place. The engine also seems to run rich, is there a way to adjust the low speed mixture? 1 more question, is there another air filter besides the metal mesh one on the carb? This is my first experience with working on a Tomos, I'm pretty impressed with them so far. I also have a twin to this bike in real nice shape the "parts bike is a 89 and the nice one is a 91, both say, "made in Yugoslavia". Are all Tomos peds made there? Thanks again: Mike