1982 express nx50 sr won't start

Bill Campbell /

Hi

I am new to these scooters(never owned any kind of scooter)

A 1982 nx50-sr was given too me with no information.

I bought a new battery, I get a relay click most of the time and an occasional humming (not really a buzzing) from what I believe is the starter, bottom of engine and behind engine, kind of a round cylinder.

This scooter has been sitting up for awhile and I am trying to get it running for my son.

Any suggestions? I want to be sure the engine is not locked up before I invest any more money in it. Is there a way to turn the motor over without the starter? There is no kick start just a lever which I asume is for changing gears, but that is another question later on.

Thanks

Re: 1982 express nx50 sr won't start

There is no shifting gears...that is the kick starter. Make sure you have a key (leftside) and that it is in the up and down position. Then make sure the red switch on the right handle is set to run.

Try to kick the starter a few times first. If it doesn't work take the plug out reconnect it to the spark plug wire and hold it close to the engine head. Have someone kick it a time or two...if you see spark you've got it.

If you have spark squeeze a teaspoon of gas into the plug hole, screw the plug back in and reconnect it. Try to kick start it as soon as you get things back together (this will save you from kicking at it 100 times to get fuel to the carb). If it starts but doesn't stay running the try one more time. If the same happens it time to clean the carb (and man are they a pain in the butt on these little suckers).

That should get you started. Make sure all the hoses and vacuum tubes are connected right first (they should be numbered pretty well). The fuel cock connected to your gas tank should have a fuel line and a vacuum line coming out of it...make sure those are connected properly.

See where all this gets you.

Bill Campbell /

Thanks for replying