Puch Maxi Luxe 80'

I just purchased a Puch MaxiLuxe, when I bought it the owner started it up right away and showed me how it worked. I tried to start it for a while when I got it back home, I held the clutch, kicked the pedal down and revved the gas. I kept trying but I never could get it to work, after a while I think I flooded the engine, so I put it away until today. Today, I went out did the normal, fiddled with the choke and the clutch and the primer, the engine for a second right after I kick and makes a sound but never starts up. I've tried starting it in many different ways, biking and then trying to start it but with no luck. After a while of working on in just trying to get it started i noticed it was leaking fluid on the ground, the only place I saw where it was leaking was right near the gas switch. I am completely new to mopeds and I would love some advice on what to do and or what could be wrong, because it was transported in the back of a mini-van i doubt damage was caused during transport.

Re: the attached picture is of where i think it could be leaking.

Thanks in advance,

Dwegs.

1105222358_mopedclose.jpg

Re: Puch Maxi Luxe 80'

1. Is the gas on or off?

2. Is the kill switch on or off?

The gas was set as on, not even as reserve, and the kill switch was on start too, not on the off setting. I am thinking that it has to do with fuel pressure or something along those lines. could fuel pressure affect the ignition?

When you start a cold bike the engine requires a very 'rich' mixture.. (rich = lots of gasoline compared to the amount of air.) Starting mix air:fuel ratio is about 3 parts air to 1 part gas by weight.