Alittle Airsal advise please..piston on backwards?

Just rebuilt my motor today. Granted it's my fisrt time. Got it back together, Airsal 65cc, stock carb, #66 jet, tecno estroil pipe. When I started it up it runs but won't idle. Sounds loud...clacky...and alot of fuel mist is blowing back out of the carb through the airfilter. Double checked the reed valve and everything seemed okay there. Now the big question...does it sound like I put the piston on backwards? And, if so, have I f--ked anything up by running it abit? And which way is forward? Thanks.

Re: Alittle Airsal advise please..piston on backwa

James Foster /

I'm no expert at tomos ped's, and It's fine for a little mist to come back out the carb, but if it's a lot of it, the extra fuel coming out the carb might mean you're running a little rich. As for the noises, does it sound like a dinging sound, or is it an all out knocking? And from my experience, if you accidentally put the piston in upside down, it usually reduces output quite a bit. You might want to make sure carburation is sound as well before moving on.

Hope this helps,

JF

are you sure you have installed the piston rings proper like?

ther is tiny little pins in the grooves of the piston that you have to line up with the gaps in the rings.

just a thought.Also look for a arrow or mark on your piston, that should be at the bottom when you install it.

The rings are in okay. What I need to know is do the holes in the piston (the two side by side oblong ones) go on the reed valve side or the exhaust side of the cylinder? My guess was they line up on the exhaust side. Stupid of me not to check before I took the old piston off, but I was to busy concerning myself with rings and clips.