Moped restoration

Jamie Robinson /

Hey all, this is my first time posting! I just baught a Puch newport off ebay. He told me it was a 1971, but I cant be sure as there is no model plate. (kind of fishy) Any way, I want to completely restore this moped. It is in pretty good cosmetic shape, it does not run. Here is a list of the things I would like to replace- cables(all), tires,brakes, piston, piston rings, cylinder, wheel bearings, rebuild carb, points, condenser, and plug wire. I want to repaint and re-chrome just about everything. Is there anything else I should replace that I didn't mention? I want this thing to be like new. Also, where do I start! If there is anyone who could walk me through the steps of a moped restoration, it would be greatly appreciated. I have a Haynes Puch service manual on the way.

Thanks!,

Jamie

Re: Moped restoration

See Ya Moped Army /

That bike was not a 1971. It was more like an '81. There should be a VIN tag on the fram which will have the correct year of manufacture.

Leon Swarmer /

Plan on new fuel lines also, add filters, plan on spending a while cleaning up the inside of the gas tanks.

see fred's guide

http://mopedarmy.com/resources/articles/fredsguide/

Have you ridden a ped before? You are talking an awful amount of time and money on an older ped you haven't ridden? I'd clean it and get it running as is before I"d talk about rechroming, etc.

Leon

Steve Murphy /

Sorry to do this to you, and I'm not trying to be a jerk, but it's sticker shock time:

(These are ballpark prices and don't include shipping, you might find better deals, but maybe not)

Brake cables (F+R): $25

speedo cable:$15

Throttle cable:$15

Tires:$50

Brake shoes: $35

Points/condenser: $25

Wheel bearings: $35

Piston/rings/cylinder $150 (stock size)

Plug wire $5

OK, you're at $355.

Not scared yet? OK..

You forgot:

Chain: $15

Fuel line/filter: $5

Spark plug: $5

ATF: $5

Gaskets: $20

Now $405...

Other things that you'll probably need: