Cimatti start problems

Justin Brownell /

My cimatti city bike, has trouble starting up after ive been running it. I was reading how this could be the coil. is there anyway to check to make sure it is the coil? I don't really have the money to spend on parts that might not help. Also is there any way to get to the coil with out having a flywheel puller? probably not, just wanted to try.hehe thank you

Justin

Re: Cimatti start problems

Justin Brownell /

also are all coils the same say if I was to get a coil from a suzuki would it fit on my cimatti?

thanks

Justin

Justin Brownell /

bump

Justin Brownell /

anyone?

I'm guessing you have a Minarelli V1 on that thing. I am not a professional, but in my experience with 50cc Italian 2-stroke engines, coils are either the same or close enough to be interchangeable. Bolts may not quite line up, but you plug will still fire. You don't need to pull the flywheel. Look for the little black box your plug wire is connected to. Swap it out, they'll be easy to find, and fairly inexpensive. If money is a problem check ebay, dunno. Here's a link to the V1 manual. Study it.

http://www.mopedriders.org/article_view.php?faq=2&fldAuto=23

Justin Brownell /

thanks a lot man. im hoping I won't have to buy a new coil the bike just starts up randomly sometimes it will fire somtimes it wont. and when it does its first kick. We checked the gear box oil the other day and noticed that it had hardly any oil in it and it was gross looking. I am hoping that is the problem. and that after I replace that it will start all the time. but I really don't know what does what on these machines, I just end up taking somthing off putting it back on and it works haha.

thanks again for all your help

Justin

Jason Luther /

coils usually either work, or they dont. its probably a fuel issue. when you try to restart it do you have the choke off? jason

Justin Brownell /

no I have the choke on. and it wont start