replacing rings

Ok, I know that I don't have as much compression as I could on my puch maxi, and I'm looking to do as much as I can to make it run faster. I want to put new rings on it, but Im new to all this stuff. I've heard from about half the people that I talk to that you have to sand the cylander to make them expand properly, and the other half say you don't. So what's the answer? Also, I heard from someone that you can do it by hand with sandpaper, and I'd rather do that than bring it into a shop, because the one near me is known for screwing everybody's stuff up.

Re: replacing rings

The cylinders on most mopeds are REALLY hard,like madeout of chrome.

But I still like to lightly cross-hatch hone them before installing new rings. Check the piston and bore to make sure they're`in spec' also. You can insert a new ring about 1/2" into the bore and check the ring's `end gap'. The specs will be listed in the manual as to what is acceptable, but I have always found I have more leeway than what they state(same's true with automotive applications).

E.G.: If they state .011 gap maximum allowed, you can probably get by with .016" for NON-RACING applications. don-ohio (:^)

Allen Murphy /

In fact, Don--you're exactly right, it is chrome!

I remember seeing a Porsche cylinder that was all aluminum with a industrial hard chrome plate lining--one tough cylinder, to say the least.

I've cross-hatched with a ball hone, and I've been told you can do it with a flap wheel if you're careful.

Al Murphy

ok, that's good info, and thanks, but is it necessisary to hone it, and how can I do it with like sand paper instead of a hone?

Actually I don't think any older mopeds are chrome, your puch engine definitly isn't chrome. It is a cast iorn liner in the aluminum cylinder.

use a course sandpaper around 100 grit and lighlty sand up and down in a circular motion to scratch diagnol lines criss crossing in the bore. It isn't necessary to do it much.