leaky carb

I just bought a slow-running Honda Urban Express. I'm new to mopeds but decided to fix and learn. I got the manual, got Fred's guide-- cleaned the carb, exahaust port, burnt out the exhaust pipe...reassembled and crossed my fingers:

If I'm lucky, the engine turns over for about two seconds. After that, the carb's drain pipe leaks pretty consistently.

I checked the drain screw multiple times to no avail. It doesn't really stop the flow. (I don't have a tube attached to the drain spigot, it didn't come with one, not sure if I'm supposed to).

Is this just an assembly order blunder or did I seriously fuck something up? Thanks.

Re: leaky carb

Don Pflueger /

only four things will cause a carb to leak;

worn inlet needle and seat

dirt in between the inlet needle and seat

a leaking float

the float bowl is on backwards and binding up the float

Thanks. I've checked some similar posts also and will investigate.

One thing: I made the mistake of disassembling the bowl without really paying much attention to how much tension the float screw is supposed to place on the float. Is it supposed to be loose and "floaty" or does compression push it down?

Don Pflueger /

i'm not really sure. the best place to ask that is at www.network54.com and then look up expressly mopeds forum on that site.

your float might be sticking. I had that problem on my old batavus.

make sure the float is not sticking open.

I fixed the leak...the float pin was placed incorrectly, although that's probably a hint towards greater problems:

Second try, I kicked the bike into gear, it ROARED to life (muffler still off) with IMMENSE pull...I had to dodge this kid who came out of nowhere to play with my dogs and couldn't tell if I turned the bike off or it stopped by itself. Either way, I can't get it started again. No leak, but no luck.

It should be mentioned that I haven't an air filter, just a cheap, stiff rubber tube. I played around with altering its intake, but again....