Carburetor Cleaning

I have just recently bought a 1983 Suzuki FA50 moped and want to clean the Carb. because of hearing how it can improve speed. My moped can not go past 25mph right now so all I want to do is open the carburetor to see if there is any goo. If I unscrew the carb., will gas or oil start leaking all over the place? or can I unscrew it the clean it with out any trouble? Tx, I'm extremely new at this and trying to learn by doing things myself.

Carburetor Cleaning

You're going to have to disconnect the gas line from the carburator.

Close the petcock (fuel valve) first then get a can or jar to catch the gas when you unhook the fuel line.

I would do this all outside if possible.

Re: Carburetor Cleaning

thank you much

another thing when cleaning a carburetor it is important that if you are using a chem make sure it is for carbs,and if you can take the gaskets out do-so because the chemical will eat the seals causing your carburetor to leak, best to clean a carb with an air compressor to blow rather than push with a chemical.

You're welcome.

Take a half hour and read through "Fred's Guide", for some helpful general information about Moped repair.

You may not need any of the information there right now, but you will in the future, trust me.

The guide is listed under 'articles' in the Resource section found at the very top of this page.

Dave

Yeah, I was reading through it but one thing I cant figure out is where the carburetor is (does anyone have a picture) and also the gas shutoff valve is? I'm sorry again for not knowing anything, but I have also looked hours online so far and not finding anyluck with my type of moped.