FA50 shuttle runs great, but...

I'm new to scooters, just got 2. One runs great, one is..uh..sitting.

I just aquired an 85 FA50 here in Seattle. It has 305 miles on it, and is in great condition, starts right up, etc. After warming it up, I got it up to around 30. Then, I decided to "floor" the gas, and it bogged down on me and lost power, so I let up on the gas. It almost felt like I flooded it. Anyway after doing that, the scooter started stalling when I stopped at intersections. It happened 3-4 times and it took a while to get it started again, and I finally made it back home.

Any ideas? I know it needs a new battery, but I don't think that's causing it. Also a little white smoke usually, but maybe that's normal? I'm new to one of these and still need to get a manual, but I couldn't help myself from taking it out last night! Anything I can do to solve this?

Oh also I got a 82 Honda express, but it doesn't run. Project bike! Anyone in the Seattle area want to help? hehehe.

thanks,

Bill

Re: FA50 shuttle runs great, but...

Would you like a "Troubleshooters" list from the manual? I can send you a copy by mail. I seem to be the self appointed manual man around here for FA50s. In the meantime, I'd do the normal list of things like get a new plug, make sure the gas is fresh and make sure you have oil in the oiltank and that it is being pumped to the engine. You can buy a complete official manual from Suzuki dealers like I did for about $45. Seems high, but everyone seems to need the information contained in it.

Couldnt this also be a problem with the carb? I might clean the carb and it could solve the problem.

I, for one, agree. A little debris could have caused the carb to go sour, although you said it sounds like too much gas now? It never hurts to thoroughly clean the carb. You know the steps? Solvent, tiny wire, and compressed air, then do it all again. Oh, and check the floats. Maybe somehow they got stuck down and let too much gas in the bowl. Who knows.