Batavus Bingo Engine advice?

Karen Thornton /

I bought a Bingo off ebay a while back. Unfortunately, I was misslead on it's condition, but I chose to keep it anyway.

I've been inspecting the engine thoroughly and while I'm by no means an expert at engine repair, I feel I've researched the subject enough to know when something is a lost cause.

I'd like to drop the engine completely, and just toss it (or keep for parts). I'd have to replace so many parts to get it working again, that it just makes sense to get a new engine entirely.

So here comes the part where I need advice. I had this half baked idea this morning. What if I were to buy one of those engine setups that have been growing in popularity lately. The engine designed to transform a bicycle into a moped. (ie: http://www.kingsmotorbikes.com/ )

While the Bingo has got a heavy frame, it would appear that the engine would be powerful enough to propell it.

Am I dreaming here, or might this just work?

Comments please!

Re: Batavus Bingo Engine advice?

What is wrong with the motor that is on there that it is such a lost cause?

Karen Thornton /

It's the most filthy, rusted out thing I've ever seen in my life. The rust has corroded parts of the engine block, and I hesitate to see what it's done to the insides. (I haven't been able to crack it open yet because I'm still trying to get the corroded, rusted bolts out of the frame)

The carb is missing everything important and all the electrical and other lines are in poor shape at best. It's become clear to me that the previous owner not only didn't take good care of it, but used it in an offroad capacity.(!)

It is repairable, but even after getting it back in shape and spending a good chunk of money, the engine will still probably be garbage within 2 or 3 years. While a bit more expensive, I figure it would be more worth it to just drop the engine entirely and put in a new one with all new electrical.