Is Clicking in Transmission normal? AND

Hi All,

I just started riding my 72 garelli and I have noticed that after I stop pedalling ( when the motor is not running ) it sounds sort of like the sound a ratchet makes when it is clicking ( when you are cocking it back for the next tighten or loosen). Is something wrong with it or is this a normal sound??

Also Does any body know the reason why my engine would bog down at low speeds? When I put on the choke while it is bogging it seems to Recover a bit. I can actually speed up quite well when I alternate Choke on Choke off Choke on Choke off etc. as I speed up and as I reach higher speeds the

Re: Is Clicking in Transmission normal? AND

I'd be draining the tranny fluid and adding the recommended oil with about 4 oz. of kerosene. Then operate the pedals and run it on the stand and operate the pedals a for not more than 5 minutes. Then drain all that out and refill with the proper oil to the proper level. That might free up any sticking `dogs' that have been causing a problem. If it starts working correctly, then drain and refill one more time with the recommended oil. don-ohio

WHOA! Disregard that for now!

Whoa! i missed the part about pedaling it and it's NOT running! SORRY! Does it have a separate pedaling chain? I'll bet it does? That is probably the freewheel at the rear wheel making that noise. Maybe you should oil it.

Again.....don't do the kerosene thingy unless the noise is coming from inside the tranny. don-ohio

Re: WHOA! Disregard that for now!

Josh Latour /

Hey Don,