stranded by motobecane

i totally refurbished my 78 motobecane this winter including a sweet new paint job....well, i didnt touch the engine cause it was running, and im no mechanic....

so we rebuilt the orig. gurtner carb, all new cables, and lined the gas tank...

ive been stranded the last 2 weekends miles away from my house where i shut off the bike cause im at a pit stop, and it just wont start back and its not flooded, it sounds as if there isnt compression when its giving me trouble, but after a few days when i get it running it goes fine....i see there are engine gasket kits online but i dont see the timing tools and stuff to rebuild it........i dont know what to do?

my sis's 76 moto broke down the second weekend and there was lots of chugging and noise in the clutch area, and it was really hard to pedal? please help.

Re: stranded by motobecane

see my topics... search for motobecane v51... or cleaning points... mine seemed that everything was good... but if i stopped or slow down, it choked and drowned. my points were dirty, the spark was weak and the gas flooded the spark plug. and now runs great, see my home movie.

Ricardo, from portugal.

www.motoretas.cjb.net

Let's help Tonia, fellows?

Tonia.....where are you located? There may be someone on here that could help you and your sister. Did you get my e-mail late last night? don-ohio

Tonia Menard /

thanks! i'm on the case.

Re: Let's help Tonia, fellows?

Tonia Menard /

yes thanks!, im in jacksonville, florida.

Okay,Tonia.......I've been thinking about the bike not starting.......mopeds needing fuel,air, compression and spark to run,at least to fire.

I'm wondering if you're getting any fuel at all? Have you removed the line to the carb to see if fuel runs out steadily?

Since you `kreemed' that tank, possibly some kreem or debris plugged your petcock(fuel valve at tank) screen?