79 Puch 2speed

I have a Maxi II, which i recently aquired, and it starts up fine. After i get going for a short while, and it's running fine, it feels like tranny disengages. If i pull the throttle the engine speeds up (makes more noise etc.) but the engine doesn't turn the wheel. What's the problem and what can i do to fix it?

Re: 79 Puch 2speed

I would check out your clutch. It sounds to me like the clutch is not engaging the the drive chain maybe. As the engine rpms increase the centrifugal forces cause the clutch to push up against the gearing and cause the wheel to turn. Maybe the clutch is worn. I have not taken apart my clutch before as I have not run into this problem yet. But I would think it is a clutch problem but I am not an expert.

-Fred

Monty Jardine /

Thing is, i dun think this bike _has_ a clutch! I'm not too tech savvy, so i dunno if that was a stupid statement or not.

the bike has a clutch

every bike has a clutch

its a centrifugal clutch (also called a C-clutch)

the clutch is constantly spinning but when it spins at a high enough speed 2 metel plates are forced gainst a metel wall that is connected to your drive sprocket

here is a photo of one in a chain saw

http://home.howstuffworks.com/chainsaw4.htm

Bradford Wirt /

I just rebuilt one of those mothers! I had similar problems. With luck you may just have something loose in there that needs to be properly torqued down to proper specs. If you are not somewhat experienced mechanically or naturally bright, it takes patience and thinking to get it right. You seriously need a manual. Go to Moped riders association site therein they have complete manuals online, can you believe it? Some of the threads are left-hand and you need to know which ones are. Also you will need to use an oil filter wrench to hold one of the parts while you torque something to specs. Look over the repair manual and assess whether the job is for you or have it done outside.

Best of success!!!!!!!!

Brad