Looking for my first moped

Hello All!

I am 33 years old and am interested in buying my first moped. I have a full size silverado and I want something I can just fire up and putt around town in. I am located in Ohio. Anyone looking to sell a moped or someone that could point me in the right direction would be GREATLY appreciated. Also, any do's/don't advice is appreciated since I am a rookie in the moped game haha.

Re: Looking for my first moped

Nic Deville /

Thanks! What do you PERSONALLY recommend from your experiences? It's hard to find mopeds around my area it seems!

Nic Deville /

Personally recommend as in brand/type. Also, what do you recommend for speed? I believe most of them are around 30-35mph? but its easy to mod to make it faster, correct?

So many variables to this...

How skilled and experienced are you turning wrenches, and on what? These old mopeds are a niche market. If you want reliability, hard to say you'll get it. The technology is old, so tinkering is more the rule than the exception. The more you modify the stock engine, typically makes it necessary to do more tinkering. There's a hierarchical chart of mopeds, from high popularity and quality, to dead end, totally orphaned brands that very few like and recommend. Higher tier means more people interested and probably higher asking prices, aside from pure good luck scoring a barn find. Look at Puch, Tomos, and maybe Honda for your first choice, though some here will disagree. This site can be awesome, but also takes a thick skin at times. The Army and the bikes are worth the trouble, overall. Good luck and post again as you search and find options

Nic Deville /

I’m not very skilled when it comes to working on vehicles in general

campeona del mundo /

yamaha zuma

id say for your first moped a Puch maxi 2hp would be ideal, simple to fix, maintain and upgrade.