How much for THIS one?

The local Honda shop gave my number to a customer calling me the "Local Moped Expert."

The customer was given a Red 1978 Concord XKE by a neighbor with very low mileage. The kid rides the bike for a year and it now has 600 miles on it. The bike suddenly stops running and will not start. I know jack about these engines, but my best guess is electrical, probably condenser, so it's a ten dollar fix to get the motor running again.

However, they had removed the tail light, the 42 year old tires are dry rotted, they tore the carburator apart, there's 2 more SHA clones in a box, I wouldn't trust the petcock, and I wouldnt trust the seals, so that engine needs rebuilding.

I go on Treatland and price out a worst case scenario to replace everything that usually goes bad after 40 years plus a new front sprocket to make the bike stock, safe, and 30 mph. The Treats cart is about $325, and my mechanic will do the rebuild, because I am not an expert at that, for $125, for a total of $450. But that is worse case, and the mechanic is positive he can come in around $300 because not everything I priced out is going to be bad, and he might have some used parts lying around and could pass that savings on to the customer. Plus, when he does a rebuild, he services the entire bike so the customer gets a reliable, turnkey bike. Basically, his rebuilds are a labor of love and he doesn't get paid for all the extras he does.

Well, of course, that $450 worse case caused sticker shock, but I did reassure that it shouldn't be that bad. Plus, the customer also has a $2000 Honda dirt bike in the garage, so I gotta think this kid is probably gonna want to ride a 60 mph dirt bike a lot more than a 30 mph moped, especially once he turns 16. I know I would.