New Here looking for Yamaha YJ1 stuff

IMG_2870.JPG

I picked up a 1965 Yamaha Riverside 55 (YJ1) and am looking for parts .I'm in need of the plastic front fender that is used with the leading link front forks,a muffler,and other things. I am just beginning this project. This was my first motorcycle 53 years ago.

Re: New Here looking for Yamaha YJ1 stuff

Mike Pizzarowski /

It would appear that you’re also missing pedals

Nobody likes a bully. * /

I had a YJ1... until it was stolen. Loved that bike. Good luck finding parts though. Try Ebay and for non-mechanical parts, cross-search with YG1; same engine with a larger cylinder, lots of parts crossover.

Yes,they are great little machines.I loved the one I had way back when it was a new bike.Used to ride it 3 up with my friends and rode it to death,even in the snow,you couldn't keep me off the thing. Guess that's why I'm still on 2 wheels today over 50 years later and have another one now.I'm looking at photos here and say this mid 70's FS-1 that has an exhaust that looks exactly the same as the YJ1 and am wondering if it will fit.

Nobody likes a bully. * /

I think it should bolt up, iirc they have the same case.

Yes,so do I .I just wish I could talk to someone who actually tried this before I go out and spend the bucks on a nice NOS exhaust.

Kelly Fogarty /

Answer is sort of. I got the FS1 exhaust header pipe from Treats and had to hack top a bit so the YJ1 exhaust nut could slide up and screw on. But it worked great and looks much better than the old roached pipe. Plus I was able to keep original muffler. If you get the all in one piece you still will likey have to modify top as exhaust nuts for each are slightly different size.

IMG_0815.JPG
IMG_0817.JPG