PSA: Welding Sunburn

Normally good about wearing protection (gloves, long sleeves, thick shirt, etc.), but it was late and had my gloves off for only about 10 mins before I noticed. Burned the hell outta' my salaryman skin.

15372037216841641915898.jpg

Burns are unpleasant; remember to cover up.

Re: PSA: Welding Sunburn

Blaine- The artist formerly known as Plumber Crack "(OFMC)" /

Hmmmff. I've been welding for over 35 years and i never wear gloves. I've never had anything like that happen either. Weird.

Maybe my fingers are more prone to burn since they spend their days perched above keyboard? Also heard that MIGing / TIGing aluminum releases more UV light due to brighter arc + less diffusion through argon compared to stick (not sure how true that part is - just some gossip I read, but I was doing MIG Aluminum).

In any case, if you sunburn easily (I do), just something to keep top-of-mind.

Looks painful.

Aloe Vera plants around the house are useful for burns.

Andrew Squiggman /

Pretty common knowledge. Why do they sell gloves and masks and aprons?

totally welded in my boxers. got some peelies on my belly...

I've had a few bad burns on the arms but never so bad as to need help.

When I first learned tig I learned from this Irish guy pale as paper wearing shorts and a t shirt and only one glove. Silly me figured maybe tig doesn't generate UV rays like mig in the same way it doesn't generate spatter. I tig'd for an hour in my tank top and got some nasty burns up my arms and inside my armpits- definitely a first for a burn there.

I still regularly tig in my riding gloves and a t shirt but only for quick jobs. You can get away without gloves for quick jobs too but I wouldn't do it every day- plus the gloves give you one tiny extra amount of protection when you accidentally grab the hot end of the filler rod. (edited)

Wait til you have a hot spark or ember get down your shirt, glove or sleeve.

> Pacer Racer Wrote: