Not very patient

I have a few questions regarding maintenance on an NQ50, while I wait for some parts to arrive.

I don't have very much experience with two stroke engines, so I have also ordered a manual for it, but I love to tinker with this stuff. I removed the (what appears to be) transmission cover, and was fairly surprised to find a layer of black stuff (assumably carbon, but I'm not sure) covering just about every surface.

Is This a normal occurance?

A moped is a lot different than a lawn mower, (I expected the piston to be bigger) And I'm not quite sure how maintenance is done on one of these. Any answers or general tips would be greatly appreciated

Re: Not very patient

NQ50, that's the Spree isn't it? I haven't worked on a spree specifically, but...

I opened up the gearbox on my NU50, and everything was covered in that crap too. I'm not too technical here lol, but I'd say it's from a lack of good maintenance. When I opened mine up (it's non-running, I'm fixing it up) it had about 1 oz of oil, and was covered in that. I cleaned it all out of course. What exactly do you want to do? I suppose you've already read or learned or known about checking for compression and spark and such? What parts did you have to get? I'll tell you what I can, and imagine whoever crosses this post next will fill you in on what they know.

Thundercats Ho

swarm and destroy

Wyn

It is indeed a spree

I had to buy a carb refurb kit because I couldn't find an adjustment screw outside of the whole package. At least I didn't have to get a whole new carburetor.

I'm trying to get the sucker running, it was sold to me after sitting for a few years (Battery still shows charge, so theres hope for it I think) I am familiar with Compression, but I'm not sure how to check for spark on this moped. Doesn't have any magneto or capacitor that I can find, so I gather it's electronic.