Shipping to Canada

I'm as close to an expert as you will find on shipping to Canada.

Some tips: If you have to order parts for your ped and you have friends here in the states, have the parts shipped to them.

Then have them ship it to you and when they fill out the customs forms tell them to list all the contents as GIFTS. EACH gift cannot exceed $60.00 in value (check this to be sure...just google "shipping to Canada" and you will find the figures). You have to check the exchange rates because the dollar figure is based on the Canadian dollar...not the U.S. dollar. You can avoid all duties and fees by shipping all items as gifts...trust me...I know how to do this....I've been sending things to Canada for over 5 1/2 years....HOWEVER...in order to avoid the fees you have list each item below the $60.00 amount...of course, that will affect any insurance claim if you ever have one...but I have never had a single package sent through UPS get damaged. UPS can mark the shipment as gifts...make sure they do it...and you also have a place you can write it in the "Special Instructions" area on the paperwork.

Keep in mind...some things are prohibited...it is up to you to decide what you say is in the box.

Duties and fees can be outrageous...it is certainly cheaper to follow the above shipping tips....

Re: Shipping to Canada

Cool! Thanks a lot!

I also just found out a friend of mine has a shipping address in the US. He lives in Sarnia so he's right on the border.

Good for you...this will save you A LOT of money...Canada penalizes the heck out of their citizens on goods from the U.S.

And Quebec....don't get me started...the things they tell people there...unbelievable stuff. Some shop owner told my girlfriend that Juicy Fruit gum isn't made anymore....and forget trying to find an English language DVD there....at least in the Montreal area...she's looked everywhere.....

Wow.