batavus

whats a good price for a late 70's early 80's batavus starflite compleate needing a tune up?

Re: batavus

complete & running ~ 200-400

complete & nonrunning ~ 50-150

are they good peds?

They are good peds. I have a 1978 Regency but parts are real hard to come by for the major stuff

Always wanted one, I imagine with that 7:1 compression and belt drive they ought to be smooth, quiet and dependable. The seats look comfy too. Seems like the perfect bike for long rides.

I'm not an expert on Bat's but I believe that there are ZERO bolt on performance parts for them, if you care at all.

nah...not in Florida

Even in good running condition a seller would be lucky to get $250 for a Batavus. Needing a tune up, what kind of tune up? If it needs a clutch or anything major walk away, if it's just a gummed up carb offer somewhere around a hundred...

Be prepared to be slow. Bats are great bikes (I've had 3 M48's and wouldn't buy anything but those or the Peugeot engined versions), but painfully slow and small (not the pug). With the way everyone around has been souping up their peds you'll be left in the dust on most group rides. Then again they make nice Sunday cruisers.

Alex Russell-Wilkes /

I love my HS50, you can't buy any "bolt on" upgrades but they can go fast, you just have to get into the specific 2 stroke tuning mods and the making of custom parts. Eight now I'm having Graham Motzing do some maching work and porting on my cylinder and head. He's also making me a custom Bat intake so I can hook up a Dellorto to it. I still have to find a pipe to weld up to it. Good condition, I say go for it.

I love bats and have had a few. No bolt up performance but an m48 does a solid 25mph and they are super reliable. Id pay anything from $100-$250 and i payed $300 for a super minty one once

Tri-ped Dave O.D.B. /

My HS-50 is a totally stock 30mph version. Tuned properly she does 32 even with the encarvi.