Complete Newb Here

So I'm looking to buy a moped to commute to work and school both being fairly close. I've been browsing craigslist for a while and trying to do research. However, I have a few questions:

I can't find a definitive answer as to what the moped laws are in California. What do I need to do to be legal?

I know nothing about fixing mopeds or cars but am willing to learn. What do I look for when it comes to purchasing a moped? I need something that will work when I first buy it and then later I can repair as I go.

Also, why are there no books on mopeds?

Thanks all! :P

Re: Complete Newb Here

Better Fส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็ster /

<http://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Moped_Laws:_West#California>;

Look into Tomos. You can get a new reliable bike and get to know how it works before it starts breaking down on you.

Ore find a running Puch on CL. That's where I started. There's tons of info out there and they're extremely easy to work on.

Go to the dmv or thier website. I would look for a running Puch or Tomos as a first bike, check fuel tanks for rust, look at the electrical wiring, see that it is not a hacked up etc. If your state requires it make sure the bike is titled and plated, it can be a hassle depending on where you live to get these. Best of luck!

If you're looking to buy a moped for a commute -- as in, you need it to be reliable -- get a new or almost new Tomos. If you decide that it's the bees knees and you're dying to work on it, then get a second one, like a Puch or something else that needs work.

There are about a million and a half threads about the moped laws in CA. I know some of the CA guys have explained it pretty thoroughly before, if you can find those posts and/or if the explanation in the wiki isn't complete enough for you.