top tank on puch maxi

hi, i am completely new to mopeds so im sorry if i sound stupid here. can anyone tell me if there is a way to put a top tank like the one on a tomos tagra or streetmate on a puch maxi luxe, luxe. and if there is can someone explain how. thanks

Re: top tank on puch maxi

you weld on a crossbar, and put a tank on it. but this is a really stupid idea and will look horrible. get a pinto frame or something if youre going to do this, and just transfer all your parts over.

p.s. havent you basically asked this like 290 times already?

The Targa tank looks a little odd on a Maxi at first, but you soon get used to it.

I welded a cross bar to the frame and made a bracket to hold the front rubber tank mounting bushings to the cross bar. The rear mounting tab on the tank was reinforced and bolted to the cross bar. I cut off the extra "fins" that run along the bottom of the tank sides and removed the mounting tabs for the Tomos plastics to clean up the looks. The Targa tank works well on a Maxi as it is designed to overlap the existing in-frame tank.

The advantages to doing this include: having a larger easier to access tank, having something to clamp your knees to for stability, and extending the life of a leaky frame.

Let it be said, that is a crazy amount of work to do to a maxi. if you really want a top tank that badly wait around and one will come your way.

Nice job on the Maxi.

Another advantage is longer range.

Mark I always forget how sick your top tank maxi is and how much work went into it!

Nobody likes a bully. * /

god, how many times can you ask the same question... someone in one of the other threads said it best, if you have to ask, you can't do it. can you weld? no? then give it up, it's a bad idea anyway.

that maxi up there looks awesome.