Bicycle Gearing???

I hear everybody talking about finding the right number of teeth on their fromt sprocket to balence low end torque out with high speed.

Is there any reason that you couldn't get the best of both worlds by using a bicycle style gearing system that lets you switch between to front sprockets? I come from a bicycle repair background so this occured to me immediatly but I'm new to this whole moped thing... Their must be a reason that I've never seen it before.

Is it worth trying? Any thoughts would be great, thanks.

LIGHT eR' UP!!!

Re: Bicycle Gearing???

Actually, correct me if I'm dead wrong, but in that picture-of-the-week of the puch, it looked to me almost as if it had a derailer...

Brandon E /

In the POTW puch has a chain tensioner for the pedal system. It has two chain and sprocket systems, one for the pedals and one for the engine. The engine drive chain is on the other side of the bike.

SteelToad /

I would think that with the weight of a moped chain, and the speed that it rotates

at, that anything other than a true path would make it want to come off the

sprocket, or at least cause a lot of wear. On the other hand, with a bicycle being

driven that fast, your legs would want to come off the socket or at least cause

a lot of wear :)

Jon DAlton /