simply your mechanic approach

Miguel /
This single post is part of a larger thread. Start from the top or view this post in context.

dave:

i just read your past posts ... and i'm a bit worried that you might be damaging your ped. please bear w/ me, i mean no disrespect.

the hacking off the muffler, will lead you to trouble. so might the drilling out of the jet.

i think ree and ron and the others had it right to take the repair thing slower. here's my advice (mind you, i'm not an expert at all and i'm only familiar w/ a minarelli engine).

the best place to start a repair is w/ the carburator, as others suggested. take it off, and clean it. don't mess w/ drilling jets unless some told you to. everyone tells me it's such a bad idea. besides, you don't really need a bigger jet ... my ped runs faster w/ a 49 than w/ a 62.5. so go figure. most people in the moped army prefer 52 or thereabouts. i'm using a 55, but will switch to a 52 soon, since it'll give me more top speed (i'm pretty sure of that).

so clean the carburator thoroughly. check the float, it might not be a tight seal. also, check the petcock to be sure plenty of fuel is going in (also be sure your inline fuel filter is clean; put one on if you don't have one). doing those things takes me about 15-20 mins tops and usually solves the problem.

if that doesn't fix it, then you move on to tougher things. if the moped starts and all (as i think you imply), then it's not really an engine problem (please someone correct me if i'm wrong here). that means it's probably a fuel problem or something like that. check your idle and throttlw settings in general, that sometimes helps a bit.