Freespirit

I have a few students that are trying to restore a donated moped it is a sears freespirit. It is in amazing shape. it only has 360 miles on it. the only unfortunate thing is that it is missing a motor and possibly the black cover thing that runs along the frame above the motor. I am sorry I cannot be more detailed but I have only seen pictures of the moped fully assembled and I am a woodshop teacher so my knowledge of mopeds is limited. I am looking for help in all aspects of fixing this moped. I would hate to let the students down they are really excited about fixing it up. We dont have much money but we can do work for trade. we are currently making log furniture and custom duck and goose calls. we also have a laser engraver and can do custom engravings on things like gas tanks, I think?

Please let me know if anyone is interested in donating to the cause or would like to trade for a custom made woodworking project. I will add some pictures after I take attendance and figure out how to add pictures.

Thanks

Matt

Re: Freespirit

do you have a picture of it? that could help but right now it sounds like u need a e50 (KICKASS ENGINE)

Freespirit

Gunther McCilicutty /

Post them via the reply message box...browse and pic the picture

Can you say "Wooden Moped"! I would give you an engine to put on it if you could build me an exact replica of the frame with enough structural integrity to ride at 30mph out of a nice dark wood.

Gunther McCilicutty /

I'm thinking Walnut with inlayed Maple pinstripes.

Good call on the hardwood bike. I am an avid woodworker and that was the first thing I thought about.

can u do that like put a steel pole inside a block of wood to make it strong enough for rode useage?

Gunther McCilicutty /

I think that 3-4 pcs of laminated hardwood would do it..no need for a steel rod or pipe.

The gastank would be the worst problem...next to the swingarm