78 Hobbit (PA50) vs 79 Express II

I'm a total newbie looking to buy my first moped. I'm debating between a 1978 Honda PA50 II or a 1979 Honda Express II. What would you buy??? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Also, what should I be spending on either moped? (Fair market value) The Express has less than 200 miles, the PA50 has a couple thousand.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

-Chelle

Re: 78 Hobbit (PA50) vs 79 Express II

PA 50

It's late.

IMHO PA50II is the perfect moped.

dude get both. hobbits are awesome as shit and expresses are reliable as shit.

78 Hobbit (PA50) vs 79 Express II

Kind of hard to pass up an Express 2 with around 2900 miles but the Hobbit is variated and is much better on takeoff and climbing hills. THe Hobbit has pedals that also help on very extreme hills and also is more upgradeable as far as rear gears. The Express can be kitted, piped, and carbed but you are wasting your time doing so since the final drive is fixed and you will do about 5 mph faster than stock. While the Hobbit can be made to go over 50mph.

Thanks for the heads-up! Actually, the Express has only 120 original miles- that's why I'm waffling a bit between the two. I find the Hobbit has more appealing looks, but this particular one has over 2 thousand miles....when a bike is 30 yrs old, does it really matter whether it has 120 miles or 2000??

I'm really not sure about the big picture on this one.

Any input?? Am I being bamboozled when the guy wants $200 more for the Express, just because of the low mileage??

What would you pay for a 79 Express with only 120 miles?

Or a Hobbit with 2000 miles??

Buy them both and sell the Express on egay for about $700 and use the money to upgrade the hobbit. Actually if the Hobbit isn't the PA50II I would just get the Express hands down.

Express, that's some low mileage.

It's a PA50 II. They want $350 for the Hobbit, and $550 for the Express. Which is the better deal? Most bang for my buck?